Is Something Rotten In Treasury?

some info culled from today’s New York Times article on Paulson. (full article here) :
 
During the week of the A.I.G. bailout, Hank Paulson spoke with Goldman-Sachs chief Lloyd Blankfein at least 24 times.

Paulson’s former firm, Goldman, had exposure to A.I.G.  Paulson had a major part in the decision to rescue A.I.G; the Fed made the loan to A.I.G. and any losses will be absorbed by taxpayers. (The GAO suspects A.I.G. will never be able to pay back the loan.)  The government has committed $173 billion to A.I.G.

Goldman received $13 billion in taxpayer money as a result of the A.I.G. bailout.  Goldman was also given permission to convert from an investment firm to a national bank, making access to federal financing easier.

Goldman also received federal debt guarantees and $10 billion from TARP.  Goldman also benefited when the SEC suddenly changed trading rules, which resulted in investors being banned from shorting Goldman shares.

Goldman has rebounded far more than its competitors; its employees are expected to earn record bonuses this year, averaging about $700,000 each.

Paulson’s former rival, Lehman Brothers, was left to fail.

 
 
Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • August 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Tweets @LaneLipton

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • writer Lane Lipton Patrick Frey defamer Pat Frey's troll Dustin Farahnak @Dust92 libelous statements Patterico Dustin made defamatory statements Patrick Frey's troll Dustin Farahnak lies for Patrick Frey liar from CA LA Patrick Frey L.A. California attempted to set-up a liberal reporter. Patrick Frey made false allegations Patrick Frey's troll Ameristroika/Breitbart.com blogger Douglas Stewart. He is just one of a coordinated group of political extremists who are doing their very best to tell tales about me and to try to sully my name. They've written misleading and untrue blog posts about me (some of their statements have been so ludicrous, I have to laugh), and then they manipulate search engine results (a common tactic of theirs), so that their defamatory posts will be artificially and persistently high in search engine results/rankings. I've been doing a little bit of political reporting, and I've been writing about some dirty tricks politics perpetrated by this "Team Extreme" that writer Douglas Stewart (henchman/thug more than a writer IMHO.) is a very active member of. They constantly try to intimidate me, in an effort to get me to cease writing about some of their political (and often illegal) actions. This far-right-wing writer, Douglas Stewart of Conecticut, aka dmatthewstewart aka docholiday187 (187 is slang for "murder-death-kill) aka about 10 to 15 other aliases, is an ex-con and hacker. The type of scammer that would pocket the money from the sale of game systems on ebay and never ship the promised merchandise, is about par for this gang's course. They call themselves "Libertarians", but Dr. Ron Paul, they're not. I'd say their behavior is far closer to that of a David Dukes crossed with a Benito Mussolini. And, believe me, I am being kind. Well, after comparing what political blogger Douglas Stewart's clients have said about him, to what my clients have said about me - well, I can stake my reputation against his any day of the week. I know for a fact that this troll/blogger Douglas Stewart-Breitbart.com-er has written complete lies about other people as well. I just think that is so, so rotten, and hopefully the word will get out to Douglas Stewart's @dmatthewstewart twitter readers, and his Ameristroika readers, that he shouldn't be taken at his word (and that they should never, *ever*, buy a Wii from him.) writer lanelipton columnist Lane Lipton columnist lanelipton researcher Lane Lipton researcher lanelipton twitter Lane Lipton twitter lanelipton blogger Lane Lipton blogger lanelipton political blogger Lane Lipton political blogger lanelipton Weinergate Lane Lipton Weinergate lanelipton blog Lane Lipton blog lanelipton teacher Lane Lipton teacher lanelipton
  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.